Favorite Things, A Thanksgiving Muse

Here it is Sunday evening, the long weekend coming to a close. Monk the pup has had his romp around the neighborhood under parting clouds, glittering stars, Orion standing guard over us tonight.

And I am thankful for so much, even, and especially the struggles of the everyday troubles. Life is rich with wonder, work, mystery, and my favorites: pressure, patience and surprise.

For all my solitary nature I have the best of family and friends. In moments of difficulty I know that tomorrow all will change and to play my part to the best of my ability and let life proceed. I have learned to see the beauty in just about all things. I am learning to use my mind for the great tool it is and make peace with the dark thoughts that come sometimes.

It has been an extraordinary experience to continue to know and grow with my sister. We had a rough beginning and have had the patience, luck, and perception to keep coming closer. She has become my teacher and confidant.

And I am so lucky to have found my sweet heart and made a safe place in the world with him. His heart is huge and beautiful. The best hugs…..gleaming copper pots…….an insatiable appetite for so many things…..courage to change…….finding balance in a violent world…..and he sees me just the way I am.

I get to teach and learn with very special kids. This work is so hard sometimes, letting the right word be spoken, taking advantage of the moment to make space for a kid to grow instead of cramming in one more bit of trivia about the elasticity of albumen. Forgiving them their profanity, being forgiven for my thoughtlessness and vanity.

Lately my mom has been so present with me. She passed away on May 12 of this year. I think autumn will be when I think about her most. She continues to teach me with all I remember…..I had a glorious day in the kitchen with her on Thanksgiving day, making my crackers, putting the turkey in the oven, making stuffing, peeling potatoes, making my cranberry relish.

Here are some pictures of the day.

the crackers, nicoise, morrocan dry cured, and fresh mozz.

the apple tree next door.

our poplar tree

roses on the porch

2 Responses to “Favorite Things, A Thanksgiving Muse”

  1. Kat Says:

    What an amazing post. Thanks for sharing – so beautifully written!

  2. Marci Plank Says:

    Thank you for sharing so much with us Georgia. Your choice of words leave footprints on my mind and heart. This time in particular is a special season to spend with our mom’s as we think of others.

Leave a Reply

