Breakfast, a little Salmon prep, some sadness

This could be the perfect late summer breakfast. The nectarines are perfectly ripe, the jam is Bob’s Backyard Blackberry, the butter is locally made.

IMG_0128

And we will be having fresh caught Skagit Bay Coho, or Silver salmon dinner tonight, from our friend Kurt.

IMG_0119 IMG_0127the one on the bottom is the Coho, the top is a King or Chinook.

We will BBQ the Coho after rubbing with OO and garlic

I’ve been thinking about Sheila Lukins this weekend and how much I love the Silver Palate series of cookbooks, and Around the World Cookbook. I could always sense her particular joy and depth of understanding about ingredients. Though I never met her I am going to miss her spirit. I think she inspired my travels, my culinary adventures……we will light some candles at dinner tonight and celebrate her life.

Leave a Reply

